Click on the following links for Information:
Tags & Registration
Florida license plates use a combination of letters and numbers. The
metal license plate is displayed on the rear of the vehicle except for
certain commercial vehicles. The plate is issued to the owner for five years
and is replaced during the fifth year (with new numbers and letters).
Vehicles are registered according to the registered owner's birth month.
The registration expires at midnight on the owner's birthday. Company owned
and short term lease vehicles registrations expire in June. Long term lease
vehicles are staggered throughout the calendar year, and truck-tractors,
semi-trailers, and trucks weighing over 5,000 pounds are renewed in
December. Nine passenger and over vehicles used for hire and mobile homes
are also renewed in December. All vehicles are licensed according to weight
with travel trailers and mobile homes licensed according to length.
New Registration and Decal Appearance
Florida has adopted a new system for vehicle registration and decals. The
new registrations are easier to read, and are post card size, which makes
them easier to store. Identifying numbers are printed on the decal when it
is issued, which will help prevent tag theft and assist law enforcement.
Identifying numbers on vehicle registration and decals:
License plate number assigned to the vehicle, truck/tractor or trailer.
Identification number when issued to a mobile home.
Florida Number (FL#) when assigned to a vessel.
Driver License number when a disabled parking placard is issued.
The yellow background and black lettering, on the new decal make it more
visible, and the same colors will be used each year, with changing
DUE TO THE CHANGE OF LAW BY THE 2007 LEGISLATURE, MOST FLORIDA RESIDENTS CAN NOW REGISTER THEIR VEHICLE FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME (A MAXIMUM OF TWO YEARS).
EXEMPTIONS TO THE BIENNIAL REGISTRATION ARE AS FOLLOWS:
• TRUCKS WEIGHING OVER 8,000 LBS
• REGISTRATIONS WITH A RESTRICTED PLATE
• DEALER REGISTRATIONS
• REGISTRATIONS ISSUED TO GOVERNMENT VEHICLES
• REGISTRATIONS ISSUED TO OUT-OF-STATE MILITARY
• SEMI-TRAILER REGISTRATIONS
• ANY REGISTRATION WHERE THE NATIONAL GUARD EXEMPTION IS BEING USED
||1 Year Tag
||2500 - 3499
||3500 - up
||2000 - 3000
||3001 - 5000
Cost Include a mail fee of $0.70, If a metal plate is required, please
include an additional $ 2.15 mailing fee
Click Here To
View Specialty Tags and Statistics
Specialty Tags may be purchased at any Tax Collector or Branch Tag
Office. These plates carry unique designs that were created to honor
specific organizations. In addition to the annual license tax, there is
an annual use fee ranging from $15.00 to $25.00. Additionally there is a
$5.00 annual processing fee, and a $28.00 plate fee, each time a new
plate is issued. The use fee and the processing fee are charged each
year, in addition to the registration fee, upon renewal.
Personalized Tags may be ordered at any Tax Collector or Branch Tag
Office. Application for the initial personalized tag can be made any
time. An $43.15 replacement plate fee and $15.00 personalization fee is
charged, upon initial application, in addition to other registration
fees. The $15.00 personalization fee is charged each year upon renewal.
If your current tag is 10 years old, you must order your new personalized
tag two months ahead of expiration.
The State of Florida has a state sales tax of 6%. As an agent for the
Department of Revenue, the Tax Collector's Office collects these taxes. Taylor
County has an additional 1% additional local option tax, on the first $5000.00.
(Maximum $50.00) Sales tax is collected when a customer transfers title to a
motor vehicle, vessel or mobile home. Note: If a vehicle is traded in, sales tax
is collected on the difference between the price of the vehicle and the trade
Proof of insurance (binder, policy, or card) from a certified Florida agent
or broker is required to purchase and renew a license plate in Florida. The
vehicle owner must present to the Tax Collector documentation of Personal
Injury Protection (PIP) in the amount of at least $10,000 combined bodily
injury liability and property damage liability insurance in the amount of
$10,000. Motorcycles, mobile homes and trailers are exempt from the
License plates can be renewed by mail and returned to the owner.
Renew by phone at 850-838-3517, or
to renew online
You must have:
1. Renewal notice with PIN or your tag number or date of birth
2. Credit Card
In order to maintain accurate records, and help ensure that each registered
owner receives a tag renewal notice, all changes of address must be reported
to the Tax Collectors' Office within 20 days. The vehicle owner is required
to provide either the license plate number, a Florida Driver License or a
Florida Identification Card, in order to facilitate the address change.
Renewal notices are mailed as a courtesy service, to help facilitate the
All motor vehicles being registered in Florida for the first time must have the
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verified. The Tax Collectors' Office will
perform this service at the time of registration. The VIN can also be verified
by, any law enforcement officer, a Florida notary public, or a motor vehicle
dealer. If you choose to have your VIN verified by one of the persons listed
you will need form DHSMV 82042 Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer
Annual license taxes, for the operation of motor vehicles, are defined by
Florida Statutes, and
must be paid at the time of registration and renewal. All fees are subject to
change by Legislative Act.
Inital Registration Fee
The first time a license plate is purchased for a motor vehicle, a
$225.00 initial registration fee may be imposed. This fee applies to
private automobiles, motor homes and trucks weighing less than 5,000
Members of the Armed Forces stationed in Florida, but who maintain
their legal residence outside the State of Florida, are classified
as non-resident military and are eligible for special registration
rates. To qualify for the special rates, Florida law requires that
the vehicle owner must submit a copy of their military orders or a
current leave & earning statement for review. Proof of insurance is
If the vehicle is not titled in Florida, a copy of the
out-of-state title is required for application (DHSMV form 82042).
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) must be verified by a Tax Collector
employee, Florida notary, motor vehicle dealer, or a state or military law
enforcement officer. State Statutes require the VIN be verified yearly upon
Regular rates will apply if the non-resident's status changes.
Also, if military orders transfer the owner out of the state of Florida, they
are no longer entitled to Florida registration. If the vehicle owner is a
Florida resident, the vehicle can be registered in Florida, by signing a
military insurance exemption affidavit
furnishing an out-of-state address, and
a copy of the military orders, or an affidavit from their commanding officer,
confirming their date of assignment.
To transfer a Florida Title, the seller must complete the transfer
information on the current title, including the purchasers' name, the
selling price, and the odometer reading at the time of sale.
(A bill of sale may be submitted for proof of purchase price). Sales tax
will be collected if applicable. All transfers of ownership must be
completed within 30 days of the date the vehicle is assigned by the seller
or a $20.00 late penalty fee is levied at the time of transfer (ATV ownership late penalty fee is $10.00). Our office
has a fast title service for an additional $10.00. You can have the title
when you leave the office.
An out-of-state title must be submitted as proof of ownership and if
transfer of ownership is involved, it must be properly assigned
indicating the new owner's name and address. An application for
Florida title must be completed and accompanied by verification of
the Vehicle Identification number (VIN) and odometer reading (DHSMV
The owner(s) or purchaser(s) must sign this form or give power of
attorney. Sales tax will be collected if applicable.
New Vehicle Titles
All new vehicles are required to have a Manufacturer's Certificate
of Origin (MCO) which must be signed by a licensed dealer for
transfer to the buyer. To obtain a Florida title, the MCO must be
filled out completely and attached to the title application form (DHSMV
The information must include the owner's complete name and Florida
address, date of birth, sex, driver license number, a complete
description of the vehicle, and any lien to be recorded. Sales tax
will be collected if applicable.
placard is issued at no charge to an individual with disabilities that limit
or impair their ability to walk or is certified legally blind. The parking
permit entitles the driver transporting the disabled passenger to utilize
handicap parking facilities. The placard is transferable to any vehicle
transporting the disabled person. The placard is to be hung on the rear view
mirror when using the designated parking spaces. Applicants and their
physician are required to sign for the permit.
A temporary disabled parking permit can be purchased for a 90 day period,
which is good for up to one year.
In Florida, mobile homes must be titled and registered. A numbered decal,
instead of a metal license plate, is issued for identification. State
statutes require mobile home registrations be renewed annually by December
31. A delinquent fee is charged if the registration is not renewed by the
10th of the following month. Current Florida Law requires a real property
decal be issued to a mobile home when the mobile home and land owner are one
in the same.
Registration fees are set by the Department of Motor Vehicles and are based
on the length of the mobile home. Double wide and triple wide mobile homes
are considered two and three separate units respectively, and the owner must
purchase that many decals. Mobile home owners are required to display the
decal in a window clearly visible from the road in front of the home.
|Mobile Home Decal Fees
|thru 35 ft
|66 ft and Up
To register a mobile home, the owner must present to the Tax Collector's
Office the following documents:
current or last issued Florida Vehicle Registration Certificate for
the mobile home (if lost, furnish the most current decal number or a Florida
driver’s license or Florida identifications card).
To title a mobile home, the owner must present to the Tax Collector’s Office
the following documents:
2.) title to the mobile home (from Florida or any other state) signed by the
previous owner if it has not been transferred into the current owner's name
and a bill of sale
Real Property (RP) Decals
All mobile homes or recreational vehicles permanently affixed to the
owner's land and declared as real property are issued a permanent "RP"
decal. Owners must obtain a DR402 form from the Property Appraiser's
Office, indicating the land and mobile home titles are in the same name,
before applying for the "RP" decal from the Tax Collector's Office.
"RP" decals are permanent and can be transferred to a new owner when the
land and mobile home are sold as a unit.